Writing Prompt (47)

What annual event do you look forward to every year?

For me, it’s the Renaissance Fair. I love it. I go at least twice a year, and never get tired of it. Two years ago I was one week away from giving birth. Nope! Not gonna stop this gal!! (Okay, it was hot, and I sort of thought I was going to die, but I ate my giant, pregnant body weight in food, so.. that’s a win). It starts August 19th here in Minnesota. Yes, I’m counting down the days (71). I’m already so excited!! There’s also a Garlic Festival I very much enjoy, as well as an Irish Fair I like to attend. But the Ren Fest is by far my favorite.

What about you? Let me know in the comments!

Image courtesy of Craig Madsen.

 

#100daysofprompts

5 thoughts on “Writing Prompt (47)

  1. Durga Puja. It is an autumn festival that is celebrated by the Bengali community in Calcutta, India, and at the time the city comes to a standstill. Durga is a Hindu warrior goddess and she stands for protection from any kind of evil and wrong in the world. I think of her as quite a feminist who rides a lion and is a multi-tasker with her many arms holding various weapons. She does not think twice about slaying a demon. As fierce as that sounds, Durga Puja (Worship of Durga) is actually a loverly affair. Stretched over 4-5 days, it is about delicious food, new clothes, catching up with family and doing nothing over the period except indulge in hedonism. There are different artistic renditions of the idol of Durga all over the city and it is fascinating to see how artists visualise her. At the end she is immersed in the river, a time which surprisingly leaves most people teary-eyed. All this even though I am not religious 😉

    The Renaissance Fair looks engaging. Plus if you have memories of carrying your child around the time, it must be even more memorable. I love the sound of the Garlic Festival too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

