Writing Prompt (26)

My dad and I went on a three and a half hour adventure foraging ditches for wild asparagus. This is something my dad and I have done ever since I can remember, and is one of my favorite things to do in the spring.

We made a KILLING. And now I will eat asparagus at least once a day for the next week and a half hahahaha.. (not kidding)… but, this got me wondering…

Have you ever been foraging? What were you looking for? What did you find?

 

My husband and I look for morel mushrooms and raspberries every year, and, in doing so, discovered ramps and wild ginger. We’ve made it our mission to educate ourselves about the different edible plants around our lovely state (Minnesota), and have even joined groups and made friends in doing so. And if you don’t mind being destroyed by mosquitoes, and becoming the occasional snack for ticks (YUCK!), it is a TON of fun.

What grows where you’re from? Do you have any yummy recipes you’d like to share of your foraged goodies? Also, I’m in desperate need for recipes involving asparagus. Seriously. There’s so fricken much of it.. I’ve even shared with the neighbors. Let me know in the comments!!

 

#100daysofprompts

6 thoughts on “Writing Prompt (26)

Leave a Reply

