Writing Prompt (13)

So, I’m here, listening to my playlist of current favorite songs, and I realized that I have the same song on it 3 times— the original and two covers. I love every single one of them, and posted the YouTube video of one of the versions for all of you to enjoy. Hurt, originally by Nine Inch Nails, then covered by the late and great Johnny Cash, then the very talented Leo Moracchioli (linked). And this got me thinking…

What is your favorite cover of a song? Do you like or original more, or not at all?

Honorable mention: The Sound of Silence, by Simon and Garfunkel, covered by Disturbed. I really do not enjoy the original (sorry!!), but the Disturbed version gives me goosebumps. Every. Damn. Time. I also love the little snippet of this song in the Trolls movie.

 

#100daysofprompts

2 thoughts on “Writing Prompt (13)

  1. Man, love me a good cover song but they are so tricky to pull off. To really play homage to the original yet make it your own. Then there are those bands that are untouchable, don’t care what you do–the cover is gonna suck and you deserve to die horribly in a bus accident. More on that later…….

    Two songs for me immediately come to mind. Reel Big Fish’s cover of A-ha’s “Take on Me” and Goldfinger’s cover of a band I considered untouchable, the Cure’s “Just Like Heaven”. Heard other Cure covers–bus accident prospects. Granted, Goldfinger has been one of my favorite bands for–Gah 1996!!! 20 years!! The Cure’s Kiss me Kiss me kiss me was played over and over for hours 5 days a weeks while drafting in tech school(89-91). First time i hear that cover I was just blown over, every time it comes up on pandora makes me giddy as it seems to meld two different periods in my life.

    Typing on a ipad sucks…..

    22 Jacks…Police cover….should never be done….seen them 3 times….first time didnt know any better…second and third time those fuckers snuck up on me…..their bass player went on to be in Goldfinger….hate to see them live now………….they really screwed me over……sadly, their bus/van never crashed….maybe you heard this song before, out guitar would like to sing it for you…..DIE FUCKERS!

    Greatest cover band with the best name ever! Me First and the Gimmie Gimmies

    Wish i was a Gimmie

    Like

Leave a Reply

